Diane Thompson-Wells was a long time supporter of the Phantom Regiment, as well as a member of its Board of Directors. Her services to the Board included Treasurer and Board President (1997). She was very passionate for the organization and its students. Diane passed away in 2000. A scholarship was created in her name to help support the educational goals of the Regiment’s members.

The Diane Thompson-Wells Memorial Scholarship is available for marching members of the Phantom Regiment who have a GPA of 2.5 or higher and who are enrolled in or will be enrolled in an accredited college or university for the fall semester. This year’s award will be $1,000.

“Diane loved the Phantom Regiment and had a passion for education,” said her husband, Doug Wells. “This is an especially fitting way to honor her memory and create a lasting legacy to help corps members achieve their educational goals.”

Diane Thompson-Wells passed away June 16, 2000. Friends and family describe her as “challenging,” always striving to do her best, to be a leader and encouraging others to do so as well.  She earned an accounting degree from Iowa State University and a Master of Business Administration degree from Drake University in Des Moines. Diane joined Sundstrand Corporation (now Hamilton Sundstrand) in 1971 and became one of the highest ranking women in the company, rising to Director of Electronics Operations Finance at the time of her death.

To apply for this scholarship, you must meet the following criteria:

  • A graduating high school senior or current four-year college or university student
  • GPA of at least 2.5/4.0
  • Demonstrate financial need
  • Marching member in good standing with the Phantom Regiment

The application process is done online. To apply or for more information, visit:

Online Application for Diane Thompson-Wells Scholarship

For more information, contact the Community Foundation of Northern Illinois at (815) 962-2110. The scholarship is awarded and presented at our home show – Show of Shows.

The mission of the Community Foundation of Northern Illinois is to attract, grow, and preserve a permanent endowment for the needs of the people of Boone, Ogle, Stephenson and Winnebago Counties. The Community Foundation is the area’s leading provider of grants and scholarships.

Visit the Foundation’s website at: www.cfnil.org.

Past Recipients Include:

  • 2019 – Amber Barnosky
  • 2018 – Jessie Saldana
  • 2017 – Amanda Petro
  • 2016 – Cassandra McCall
  • 2015 – Katelyn Losos
  • 2014 – Keaton Lantrip
  • 2013 – Dominic Zanaboni
  • 2012 – Dominic Zanaboni
  • 2011 – Jennifer Skogh
  • 2010 – Lea Conrad
  • 2009 – Koji Mori
  • 2008 – Parker Doelling
  • 2007 – Emily Fetcho
  • 2006 – Alicia Conrad
  • 2005 – Jed Hannemann
  • 2004 – Cathy Rakowski
  • 2003 – Eric Clubb
  • 2002 – Will Richards
  • 2001 – Huei Yuan-Pan