This year’s recipient of the Diane Thompson-Wells Memorial Scholarship is Catherine Anita Rakowski. Catherine, who is from South Lyon, Mich., will enter her sophomore year this fall as a music major at Michigan State University. She is a member of the Spartan Marching Band.

Diane Thompson-Wells served as a board member of the Phantom Regiment for 10 years, including serving as Board President. Diane died of cancer in 2000 at age 49. Her love of education and the Phantom Regiment are the basis for this scholarship award. She believed in the pursuit of one’s dreams and rising to meet all of life’s challenges.

The $1,500.00 scholarship award is given to a Phantom Regiment member who best exemplifies these traits. Each applicant must submit a written essay expressing their interest and outlining how they met their particular life’s challenges.

This is the fourth annual Diane Thompson-Wells Memorial Scholarship Award. Previous winners were Eric Clubb (2003), Will Richards (2002) and Huei Yuan-Pan (2001).